Posted in Reviews

Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior (1981)

Synopsis

In the post-apocalyptic Australian wasteland, a cynical drifter agrees to help a small, gasoline rich, community escape a band of bandits.


Pinbot

This was one of my favourite films as a kid, when I sneakily saw it at a mate’s house. I was always disappointed that my dad’s maroon Vauxhall Cavalier estate wasn’t the Pursuit Special and the grey streets of ‘80s Sheffield were not quite as dangerous and stark as the post-apocalyptic wasteland.

It’s an unashamed B-Movie and yet the sets, costumes, make up, practical special effects and stunts are cool and still have a lot of charm. The plot is wafer thin and the dialogue is minimal but this film is all about the action sequences, the world and our hero trying to survive in it. This desert punk sci-fi western delivers by the bucketload.

Better than the original?

Tons better. The first film is perhaps a more deep and ‘human’ a story but it was made on a budget of $45 and it really looks like it these days. This is a bigger, more impressive sequel with a better Mel Gibson performance and a larger budget which allowed for more inventive and exciting action sequences. Until Fury Road came along and brutally flattened it, it was the best Mad Max movie, with less said about the third one the better.

Humungus out of ten.


Hipster Ben

Mad Max. Not a film series I have memories of as an 80’s kid but I’ve definitely seen them before at some point. With this clearly being a low budget film with some questionable costume choices, it doesn’t take away from what it’s trying to achieve.

Even with a small amount of dialogue, it’s not totally needed as the plot just works.

Gibson nails the role.

Some epic action scenes and some of the camera work is stunning, with the mood and action propelled by intense music.

A very enjoyable film even all these years on.

8 camera shot changes in 8 seconds out of ten


Chip

Viewing beverage: Water, hydration is important, yo.

I think this is my favourite in the series, although Fury Road is outstanding and might be jointly top.

Braveheart aside, Mad Max has always been Mel Gibson’s definitive role for me. When I first saw Mad Max 2 in my early teens I definitely wanted a Gyro Copter, and to be honest I think I still want one. Oh, and a deadly metal boomerang. Performances are excellent all round. Even the Feral Child manages to avoid being annoying, but they probably achieve this by not having him speak… An excellent sequel.

8 marauders in BDSM gear out of 10


Neptune King of the Sea

This film is what Flicky Flicks is about, seeing that classic film which you forgot was so amazing. All the way through this I thought it felt familiar it’s like so many post-apocalyptic films which is true until you realise this film influenced them all. In fact Fist of the North Star is almost a carbon copy of mm2 in theme and design. Let’s get this correct the film is brutal, it still manages to shock in terms of dispatching characters in brutal and bloody ways. Gibson is as his best as a silent and merciless shell of a man who by the end of the film shows at least the chance of redemption. Great supporting acting performances in what is strangely quite a hauntingly beautiful film.

Far superior to the original and the surprise package of Flicky Flicks round 3.

Author:

Forty-something geek on the south coast of England. Think I'm sort of smart, but I might just be fooling myself. Player of games, reader, feminist. Podcast host at maximumpowerup.com

Leave a comment