Posted in Reviews

The Godfather: Part 2 (1974)

Synopsis

The early life and career of Vito Corleone in 1920s New York City is portrayed, while his son, Michael, expands and tightens his grip on the family crime syndicate.


Chip

Viewing Beverage: Gin & Pineapple Cocktails

The Godfather trilogy is one of those things I just never got around to. I don’t think there are many classic film gaps in my viewing history, but this has always been a glaring omission. (I’ve never watched the Sopranos either, could be related…) With this in mind, a nomination of the middle movie seemed the perfect time to rectify the situation. Turns out my partner loves the films, so we sat down Sunday to marathon the three films.

Well, we managed the first two, turns out they’re almost Kubrickian in length. I’ll have to watch the conclusion some other time. I can say I enjoyed both movies, it’s interesting how many of the set pieces and elements of dialogue have made it into pop culture. I pretty much felt like I had seen it all before anyway.

Focusing on the second film for this review, I did find the pacing to be a bit odd. Also a couple of times when it was leaping between the past and present, it took me a few minutes to figure out what I was watching. Perhaps that was just me not paying enough attention. Also there are a few occasions where it shows someone ‘disrespecting’ the Corleone family, and you think “they’re going to regret that”, but the film takes so long for the payback that I found I’d stopped caring. It’s probably supposed to make a statement like ‘the mob never forgets’ but since you know it’s coming the delay just feels drawn out and makes a long film feel even longer.

The acting performances are stellar, and the film deservedly iconic. I found the score grated, but that’s more the fault of 1 million beer adverts than this movie’s. I think I’ve done the Godfather a disservice by leaving it so long to watch it, and expect the Don will be popping round to sort me out.

It’s 6 Mafiosos out of 10 for me


Hipster Ben

Michael takes over his father’s empire built on respect and love, but it becomes one of paranoia.

“I don’t have to kill everyone, just my enemies”

It’s a long film, depressingly atmospheric driven by the soundtrack.

It’s a heavy tale, Vito’s flashbacks being my favourite parts. I almost feel like Id have preferred those just to be the film itself.

I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first time I watched it some 15 years ago, but the performances are brilliant. In particular Al Pacino.

9/10

Author:

Forty-something geek on the south coast of England. Think I'm sort of smart, but I might just be fooling myself. Player of games, reader, feminist. Podcast host at maximumpowerup.com

Leave a comment